June 26, 2019

Receiving their certificates after completing a year-long residency training in Xavier's PGY-1 Pharmacy Residency Program were: (sitting L-R) Dr. Bolanle Soyombo, Dr. Micah Johnson, Dr. Rania El-Desoky, and Dr. Anthony Nguyen. Presiding at the ceremony were COP faculty/administrators (standing L-R) Dr. Janel Bailey Wheeler, Dr. Kathleen Kennedy, and Dr. Shandrika Williams Landry.

What to read next

Niya Jeter, a pharmacy senior at Xavier University of Louisiana, has been selected for the Senior Commissioned Officer Student Training and Extern Program (SRCOSTEP) with the US Public Health Services (USPHS). The program provides an opportunity for students entering their final year of graduate school or professional training to get paid an officer's salary while in school, in exchange for a two-year commitment as a USPHS Commissioned Officer upon graduation.

College of Pharmacy

Sara al-Dahir, PharmD, and her team in the College of Pharmacy were selected by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to present their research on vaccine hesitancy to the Biden administration. The research project was developed in response to the NIH sending a Notice of Special Interest (NSI) offering funding for research done on COVID-19 testing in the summer of 2020. Dr. Al-Dahir’s team went the extra step to focus solely on vaccine hesitancy in the African American community.

College of Pharmacy