Degree Programs

The computing disciplines comprise of the study of information representation and processing. The science explores how representations are designed, implemented, and utilized to automate processes and solutions, especially in physical devices. The study of computing includes the theory, analysis, design, and implementation of the data structures that represent information, and the algorithms that operate on these structures. The study of computing draws on concepts from many different fields, including mathematics, physics and other natural sciences, philosophy, cognitive science and other social sciences, humanities, art, communications and more. Students of computing learn to integrate both theory and practice; they also learn the importance of abstraction and an appreciation for good engineering design.

The Computer Science Department offers the:

B.S. degree in Computer Science
B.S. degree in Computer Information Systems
Minor in Computer Science
B.S. degree in Computer Science with a Concentration in Computer Engineering (3+2)

All majors require the same introductory programming sequence then diverge and the computer science majors take more mathematics course, the computer information systems majors take more business courses, and the computer engineering majors take more mathematics and physics courses.

At the completion of the undergraduate degree requirements, our graduates are able to apply design techniques and programming practices to the solution of challenging problems; they have a breadth of knowledge in the theory and practice of computing; they understand the joys and challenges of teamwork; they are able to effectively communicate their knowledge; they have had research opportunities that enhance their knowledge; and they are prepared to be life-long learners in the computing sciences and beyond.

Our Curricula

The Computer Science Department curricula are based on the recommendations of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP), and the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET). The University requires a minimum of 128 hours earned overall which includes the courses required to complete the core curriculum, a minor, and a major.

In addition to all University policies, the Computer Science Department majors can earn no more than 25% of their computer science (CPSC) courses from another institution. No more than 10% of their earned 3000-level or above CPSC courses can be transferred from another institution.