College of Pharmacy

Xavier University of Louisiana

KiTani Parker Lemieux, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Telephone Number: 504-520-5331
Room Number: College of Pharmacy - Room 327
Fax Number: 504-520-7954
Email Address:


Dr. KiTani Parker Lemieux is an Associate Professor in the Division of Basic Pharmaceutical Sciences, where she also serves as the Director of the Center of Excellence (COE ) Scholars Program. She received her B.A. degree in Biology from Fisk University, her M.S. degree in Biology, from Tennessee State University, and her Ph.D. in Cellular and Molecular Biology from Clark Atlanta University.

Dr. Lemieux completed her Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Stanley S. Scott Cancer Center at LSU Health Sciences Center. She has served as faculty at Dillard University and the University of Nebraska at Omaha. Since joining the faculty at Xavier in 2007, Dr. Lemieux has focused her research to better understand the role of the noncancerous microenvironment in breast cancer metastasis, especially in triple negative breast cancer, which disproportionately impacts African American women. She has published in the field and is a member of the American Association for Cancer Research, the American Society for Cell Biology, and the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.


The long-term goal of this work is to understand the molecular determinants that are critical in the progression, migration, and invasion of triple negative breast cancer (TNBC).  The approach is to identify these factors from the noncancerous microenvironment and to determine their role in proliferation, migration and invasion of TNBC.    Better understanding of microenvironment of the TNBC cells will aid in the identification of novel targets for pharmacological intervention.  This subtype of breast disease disproportionately affects African American women and improving our knowledge of this phenomenon would aid in relieving the burden of disease in this population.  Dr. Lemieux's work has been supported by NIH/RCMI/RTRN, LCRC, ONR, and Komen for the Cure Foundation.

College of Pharmacy