Xavier Athletics



Share on Facebook

XU's Franklin named HBCU Female Athlete of the Year

SiMon Franklin

SiMon Franklin
     June 28, 2013

     JACKSON, Miss. — Xavier University of Louisiana's SiMon Franklin was named HBCU Female Athlete of the Year for 2012-13 on Friday evening.
     Franklin, from Baton Rouge, La., and a graduate of Xavier and St. Joseph's Academy, received the honor during the HBCU Awards banquet at the Jackson State University Student Center. The banquet is part of the inaugural National HBCU Media Week, which will conclude Saturday.
     Franklin was a standout for Xavier in basketball and track and field. In basketball, Franklin was a four-year starter at guard who earned honorable mention as a senior on the NAIA Division I All-America Team. She was All-Gulf Coast Athletic Conference for the second consecutive season after leading the Gold Nuggets with 10.7 points, 2.4 steals ands 24.9 minutes per game in 2012-13. The MVP of the 2012 GCAC Tournament, Franklin is one of nine Gold Nuggets to reach 1,000 points, 300 rebounds and 200 steals in a career.
     Franklin had 1,136 points, 331 rebounds, 208 assists and 220 steals in 128 career games at Xavier and helped the Gold Nuggets win three GCAC regular-season championships, two GCAC Tournament championships and qualify for the NAIA Division I National Championship three times.
     In track and field, Franklin was the 2013 GCAC outdoor champion in the 400-meter dash, and her time of 56.74 seconds at that meet qualified her automatically for the NAIA National Championships. She ran the anchor leg of the 400 relay team which finished second in the GCAC and also qualified for nationals.
     "I am extremely honored," Franklin said. "I thought I was done with athletics and receiving awards after track season ended, but then this happened. To be honored nationwide, that is amazing. I never thought anything like that is possible."
     Franklin recently began her first full-time job, in the mortgage department of Iberia Bank in downtown New Orleans.
     "Monee is first-class person, a wonderful choice for this award and a great representative of Xavier University," said her basketball coach, Bo Browder. "She is the type of student-athlete we continue to recruit for Xavier."
     Runners-up to Franklin were Dillard's Jazzmin Smith and Albany State's April Thomas, both basketball players.
     XU nominees who did not win were Christabell Hamilton (women's volleyball) for female coach of the year, women's tennis for female team of the year and the College of Pharmacy for best STEM program (science, technology, engineering, mathematics).
     Xavier is one of 38 U.S. colleges listed as a "Best Buy School" in the 2013 edition of the Fiske Guide to Colleges.
     A list of all the winners:
     •  Female athlete of the year: SiMon Franklin, Xavier
     •  Male athlete of the year: Anaso Jobodwana, Jackson State
     •  Female coach of the year: Toyelle Wilson, Prairie View A&M
     •  Male coach of the year: Connell Maynor, Winston-Salem State
     •  Female team of the year: Hampton basketball
     •  Male team of the year: Southern basketball
     •  Best marching band: Jackson State
     •  Best choir: Oakwood's Aeolian Choir
     •  Best student government association: Albany State
     •  Best student organization: Spelman's SpelBots team
     •  Best student newspaper: North Carolina Central's Campus Echo
     •  Best alumni publication: Morgan State's Morgan Magazine
     •  Female alumna of the year: Nicole Bernard, Howard
     •  Male alumnus of the year: Tom Colbert, Kentucky State
     •  National alumni association of the year: University of the Virgin Islands
     •  Best research center: Howard's National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration — Center for Atmospheric Sciences
     •  Best STEM program: Hampton
     •  Best social work program: Fayetteville State
     •  Best fine arts program: Alabama State's Department of Theater Arts
     •  Best business program: Paul Quinn
     •  Best nursing program: Dillard
     •  Female student of the year: Olivia Stinson, Winston-Salem State
     •  Male student of the year: Polite Stewart, Southern
     •  Female faculty member of the year and lifetime achievement award: Myrlie Evers Williams, Alcorn State
     •  Male faculty member of the year: Kinfe Ken Redda, Florida A&M
     •  Female president of the year: Dianne B. Suber, Saint Augustine's
     •  Male president of the year: M. Christopher Brown, Alcorn State
     •  HBCU of the year: Spelman


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference

National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics
The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis and track and field and women's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis, track and field and volleyball.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved