Xavier Athletics



Share on Facebook

Gold Nuggets' Reuther selected first-team All-Louisiana

Taylor Reuther

Taylor Reuther

     December 22, 2012

     NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana's Taylor Reuther was a first-team selection on the All-Louisiana women's volleyball team announced late Saturday.
     It's the second consecutive year that Reuther — a 5-foot-7 sophomore outside hitter from Metairie, La., and a graduate of St. Mary's Dominican High School — was named All-Louisiana. She made the second team in 2011.
     Reuther led the Gold Nuggets in kills, aces and digs for the second consecutive season and led the NAIA in aces per set. She was third-team Capital One Academic All-America® and the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Player of the Year.
     Reuther's coach, Christabell Hamilton, was the runner-up for Coach of the Year. Hamilton, the winner of this award in 2011, lost 6-5 in the voting to Northwestern State's Hugh and Stephanie Hernesman, who led the Lady Demons to their first winning season since 1987. Hamilton recently resigned after two seasons at Xavier and was replaced by her assistant, Hannah Lawing.
     Receiving two votes for Freshman of the Year was XU setter Franziska Pirkl. Northwestern State outside/right-side hitter Caiti O'Connell won that award.
     Xavier was 22-8 in 2012 and, for the second consecutive year, won GCAC regular-season and tournament championships and qualified for the NAIA National Championship.
     A Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel selected the All-Louisiana team, which consists of players from NCAA Division I and NAIA members.

2012 All-Louisiana Women's Volleyball Team
Stacey DiFrancesco, sophomore, Northwestern State
Courtney Donald, senior, Southeastern Louisiana
Desiree Elliott, junior, LSU
Mandi Gandi, senior, Louisiana-Lafayette
Madie Jones, senior, LSU
Taylor Reuther, sophomore, Xavier
Libero:  Meghan Mannari, senior, LSU

Carolyn Baker, junior, Dillard
Courtni Bauer, junior, McNeese State
Helen Boyle, sophomore, LSU
Blair Claypoole, senior, Louisiana-Lafayette
Cori Martone, junior, Tulane
Emily Sweet, sophomore, Northwestern State
Libero:  Keelie Arneson, Northwestern State

     PLAYER OF THE YEAR:  Courtney Donald, Southeastern Louisiana
     Voting:  Donald 5, Jones 4, Baker 2, DiFrancesco 1
LIBERO OF THE YEAR:  Meghan Mannari, LSU
     Voting:  Mannari 6, Arneson 5, Caitlyn Auxillen (Louisiana-Lafayette) 1
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR  Carolyn Baker, Dillard
     Voting:  Baker 6, Bauer 5, Ariane Labrzycki (New Orleans) 1
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR:  Caiti O'Connell, Northwestern State
     Voting:  O'Connell 6, Taylor Berry (New Orleans) 3, Franziska Pirkl (Xavier) 2, Amber Fryer (McNeese State) 1
COACHES OF THE YEAR:  Hugh and Stephanie Hernesman, Northwestern State
     Voting:  The Hernesmans 6, Christabell Hamilton (Xavier) 5, Heather Mazeitis-Fontenot (Louisiana-Lafayette) 1

Caitlyn Auxillen, sophomore, Louisiana-Lafayette
Maria Coelho, sophomore, Louisiana Tech
Caiti O'Connell, freshman, Northwestern State
Lavinia Tataran, junior, Louisiana-Lafayette


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference

National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics
The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis and track and field and women's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis, track and field and volleyball.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved