Xavier Athletics



Share on Facebook

XU's Jackson, Moses receive All-Louisiana honors again

December 14, 2012

     NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana's Zahri Jackson was a repeat selection on the 2012 All-Louisiana women's cross country team announced late Friday, and Joseph Moses was voted Coach of the Year for the fifth time.
     Xavier had no representatives on the All-Louisiana men's team, which also was announced Friday.
     Jackson, a sophomore from Kingwood, Texas, and a graduate of Kingwood Park High School, won the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference individual championship for the second consecutive year — this time in a school-record 18 minutes, 54.69 seconds for 5,000 meters — and led the Gold Nuggets to their seventh consecutive GCAC team title.
     Jackson was GCAC Runner of the Week three times and tied the league's women's career record with eight Runner of the Week awards. Her time at the
     Zahri Jackson

Zahri Jackson
     Coach Joseph Moses

Coach Joseph Moses
GCAC meet was the second fastest there since 1999. She is the first female in at least 13 seasons to win the GCAC individual championship as a freshman and sophomore.
     Moses, in his eighth season at Xavier, led the Nuggets to another GCAC title and, for the fourth time in five years, a berth in the NAIA national meet. The XU women were 33-9 entering nationals, including a victory against Seton Hall of the Big East Conference, and posted the GCAC's first perfect score at the women's league meet since 1996.
     Moses won the Louisiana coaching award for the second consecutive year, the fourth time in five years and the fifth time in seven years. He is the only Louisiana coach to win the women's award more than twice.
     A Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel selected the teams.

2012 All-Louisiana
Women's Cross Country Team

Emmi Aguillard, senior, Tulane
Paige Callahan, sophomore, Tulane
Laura Carleton, senior, LSU
Tessni Carruthers, sophomore, Nicholls State
Allison Crawford, freshman, McNeese State
Anna Katherine Devitt, freshman, Louisiana-Lafayette
Zahri Jackson, sophomore, Xavier
Fionnuala Ross, senior, McNeese State

Runner of the Year: Laura Carleton, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Jessica Stone, senior, New Orleans
Freshman of the Year: Anna Katherine Devitt, Louisiana-Lafayette
Coach of the Year: Joseph Moses, Xavier

     2012 All-Louisiana
Men's Cross Country Team

Alex Bruce-Littlewood, graduate, McNeese State
Alex Kiptoo, sophomore, McNeese State
Hillary Kirwa, junior, Louisiana-Monroe
Jarrett LeBlanc, senior, McNeese State
Mark Manion, sophomore, Tulane
Daniel Mutai, senior, Louisiana-Monroe
David Rooney, senior, McNeese State

Runner of the Year: David Rooney, McNeese State
Newcomer of the Year: Hillary Kirwa, Louisiana-Monroe
Freshman of the Year: Stephen Kerr, McNeese State
Coach of the Year: Brendon Gilroy, McNeese State


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference

National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics
The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis and track and field and women's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis, track and field and volleyball.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved