Xavier Athletics



Iles chosen a BoxToRow.com second-team All-American

Chris Iles

Chris Iles

April 10, 2012

     NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana men's basketball standout Chris Iles collected another postseason honor when he was chosen to the BoxToRow.com Division II/NAIA HBCU All-America Team.
     Iles, a 5-foot-11 senior point guard from Houston and a graduate of Alief Hastings High School, led the Gold Rush with 9.9 points per game, 4.0 assists per game, 55 made 3-pointers and a .433 3-point field-goal percentage. He ranked 14th in NAIA Division I in 3-point field-goal

accuracy, and his percentage is the fifth best in a season in Xavier history.
     Two XU teammates, junior forwards Denzell Erves of Vicksburg, Miss., and Anthony Simmons of Rochester, N.Y., received honorable mention. Simmons made the third team a year ago.
     Iles, a two-year XU starter after transferring from Nicholls State, received NAIA Division I All-America honorable mention and was All-Gulf Coast Athletic Conference.
     The XU men finished 23-9, shared the GCAC regular-season championship, qualified for the second straight year for the Buffalo Funds-NAIA Division I National Championship and ranked 24th in the postseason coaches poll.
     From the Press Box to Press Row, a syndicated sports radio program, sponsors the team.
     NOTES:  The Gold Rush ranked sixth in the final BoxToRow.com Division II/NAIA poll . . . No XU players were chosen to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association's All-Louisiana team, but Dannton Jackson received five votes to tie for second place with Louisiana Tech's Michael White in balloting for Coach of the Year. Southern's Roman Banks won the award with 9 votes . . . Senior forward Jamaan Kenner, Xavier's two-time Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete, will be featured in a taped interview on Ro Brown's Sport-a-Facts program between noon and 1 p.m. Friday on WBOK Radio (1230 AM) in New Orleans.

Division II / NAIA
HBCU All-America Team

First Team
Malik Alvin, Shaw
Darren Clark, Bowie State
Marcus Goode, Benedict
Travis Hyman, Bowie State
Tony Smith, Shaw

Second Team
Damion Harris, Virginia Union
Chris Iles, Xavier
Aaron McCuin, Paul Quinn
Marquise Mems, Tougaloo
Trevin Parks, Johnson C. Smith

Third Team
WyKevin Bazemore, Winston-Salem State
Ken Brown, Philander Smith
Joshua Eichelberger Tuskegee
Justin Glover, Winston-Salem State
Kenny Mitchell, Virginia State

Honorable Mention
Nate Barfield, Langston
Terrance Bowman, Claflin
Denzell Erves, Xavier
Denzel Mooney Lincoln (Pa.)
Andrae Nelson, Morehouse
Angelo Sharpless, Elizabeth City State
Anthony Simmons, Xavier
Calvin Thomas, Tuskegee
Byron Westmoreland, Bowie State
Devin White, SUNO

Player of the Year: Malik Alvin, Shaw
Coach of the Year: Cleo Hill Jr., Shaw


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference

National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics
The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis and women's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis and volleyball.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved