Xavier Athletics



Auburn Montgomery teams shut down Xavier again
March 26, 2011

Results:  Men    Women

     NEW ORLEANS — Auburn Montgomery continued its tennis dominance of Xavier University of Louisiana, beating the Gold Rush 9-0 and the Gold Nuggets 7-0 Saturday at City Park.
     AUM is 10-0 the last eight seasons against XU's men and 7-0 the last seven seasons against XU's women.
     The closest matches were in the men's dual, where XU singles players Zach Taylor and Steffen Giles-Osborn split sets. But both lost third-set super tiebreakers — Bence Toth beat Taylor 5-7, 6-4, 1-0 (10-4) at No. 2, and Loic Didavi defeated Giles-Osborn 6-3, 5-7, 1-0 (10-4) at No. 3 in a matchup of top-30 NAIA singles players.
     Bruno Savi and Claudio Andrade, the NAIA's top-ranked doubles team, beat Giles-Osborn and Sean Richardson 8-2 at No. 2.
     In the women's dual Xavier's Carmen Nelson lost 6-2, 6-3 to ninth-ranked Jade Curtis at No. 2 singles in the Gold Nuggets' most competitive match. The Lady Senators won all 12 sets, seven without dropping a game.
     AUM's men are ranked third in the NAIA and the defending national champion, and the women are fourth. Both teams are 14-2. Xavier's men (11-6) are eighth, and the women (3-12) are receiving votes and 27th overall.
     Both Xavier teams will play Fisk in Gulf Coast Athletic Conference duals at 1 p.m. next Saturday at City Park.


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis and women's teams in basketball, cross country, tennis and volleyball.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved