Xavier Athletics



Harvey shoots his way to All-Louisiana third team
April 3, 2010

     NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana's Michael Harvey was a third-team selection on the All-Louisiana men's basketball team announced late Saturday.
     Harvey, a 6-foot-3 junior guard from Amite, La., and a graduate of Amite High School, averaged 13.3 points and 2.3 rebounds in 29 games this season. He led the Gold Rush in scoring and 3-point shooting and ranked among the top 50 in NAIA Division I in 3-point field-goal percentage, 3-pointers made per game and 3-pointers made.
     Harvey made 42.7 percent of his 3-pointers (64-of-150), shot 50 percent from the floor (141-of-282) and was Xavier's lone All-Gulf Coast Athletic Conference selection. Only two Xavier players have made more 3-pointers in a season. Harvey is the first Xavier player since 2003-04 to reach double figures in blocked shots (12) and 3-pointers made in the same season.
     Xavier was 18-13 this season and finished sixth in the GCAC. The Gold Rush recorded three victories against ranked opponents.
     Harvey is the third player in Dannton Jackson's seven seasons as Xavier head coach to make the All-Louisiana team or receive honorable mention. Mark Stewart was on the third team in 2006-07, and Shaun Dumas received honorable mention a year ago.
     A Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel selected the All-Louisiana team. All players from four-year universities in the state are eligible.

2009-10 LSWA All-Louisiana Men's Basketball Team
First Team
Anatoly Bose, Nicholls State
Kyle Gibson, Louisiana Tech
Tyren Johnson, Louisiana-Lafayette
Tasmin Mitchell, LSU
Derrick Parker, LSU-Shreveport
Second Team
Ryan Brock, Loyola
Will Pratt, Northwestern State
Magnum Rolle, Louisiana Tech
Bo Spencer, LSU
Patrick Sullivan, Southastern Louisiana
Third Team
Chris Gradnigo, Louisiana-Lafayette
Michael Harvey, Xavier
Fred Hunter, Nicholls State
David Perez, Centenary
Storm Warren, LSU

Player of the Year:   Tyren Johnson, Louisiana-Lafayette
Newcomer of the Year:   Will Pratt, Northwestern State
Freshman of the Year:   Daman Starring, Centenary
Coach of the Year:   Kerry Rupp, Louisiana Tech

Honorable Mention:   Olu Ashaolu, Louisiana Tech; Charles Carmouche, New Orleans; Dynile Forbers, Louisiana-Monroe, Jamel Guyton, Louisiana Tech; Tony Hooper, Louisiana-Monroe, Patrick Richard, McNeese State; Tommy Sykes, Louisiana-Monroe.

Xavier's All-Louisiana Men's Basketball Players
1972-73:   Bruce Seals (first team)
1977-78:   Evan Robinson (third team)
1981-82:   Alvin "Bo" Dukes (third team)
1982-83:   Eugene Johnson (third team)
1983-84:   Rodolfo Gill (third team)
1984-85:   Rodolfo Gill (third team)
1986-87:   Juan Mercier (third team)
1987-88:   Juan Mercier (second team)
1990-91:   Merlin Peters (third team)
2006-07:   Mark Stewart (third team)
2008-09:   Shaun Dumas (honorable mention)
2009-10:   Michael Harvey (third team)


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's and women's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved