Xavier Athletics



XU's Harding is All-Louisiana a fourth time
December 19, 2009

     NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana's Ebony Harding was chosen to the All-Louisiana collegiate women's cross country team for the fourth consecutive year. She is the first Xavier athlete to be All-Louisiana four times.
     XU's Joseph Moses shared the women's Coach of the Year award with Nicholls State's Matthew Esche. It's the second straight year and the third time in four years that Moses earned that honor.
     Xavier sophomore Ray Walston made the All-Louisiana men's team, and teammate Mark Dotson was selected Freshman of the Year. It's the second time in three years that a Gold Rush runner is Freshman of the Year.
     Both XU teams won a fourth consecutive Gulf Coast Athletic Conference championship in November, and Harding and Walston were individual champions.
     The All-Louisiana teams usually consist of seven women and seven men, but this year there are eight men recognized because Walston tied with Louisiana-Monroe's Moses Chelimo and Louisiana-Lafayette's Reese Lee for the final two spots.
     A Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel selected the teams.

2009 All-Louisiana
Women's Cross Country Team

Tinette Burger, senior, McNeese State
Karensa Ellis, freshman, Northwestern State
Dakota Goodman, freshman, Nicholls State
Amy Guinn, junior, McNeese State
Ebony Harding, senior, Xavier
Lauren Jones, junior, Nicholls State
Dorcus Kapkiai, sophomore, Southeastern Louisiana

Runner of the Year: (tie) Tinette Burger, McNeese State; Dorcus Kapkiai, Southeastern Louisiana
Newcomer of the Year: Naomi Jeruto, Southeastern Louisiana
Freshman of the Year: Dakota Goodman, Nicholls State
Coach of the Year: (tie) Matthew Esche, Nicholls State; Joseph Moses, Xavier
     2009 All-Louisiana
Men's Cross Country Team

Moses Chelimo, sophomore, Louisiana-Monroe
Cullen Doody, sophomore, LSU
Kalphys Kemboi, junior, Southeastern Louisiana
Reese Lee, junior, Louisiana-Lafayette
David Rooney, sophomore, McNeese State
Henry Rop, sophomore, Southeastern Louisiana
Joshua Sawe, junior, McNeese State
Ray Walston, sophomore, Xavier

Runner of the Year: Joshua Sawe, McNeese State
Newcomer of the Year: Joshua Sawe, McNeese State
Freshman of the Year: Mark Dotson, Xavier
Coach of the Year: Sean Brady, Southeastern Louisiana


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's and women's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved