Xavier Athletics



Gold Nuggets move to 6-0 for first time since 1981-82
November 26, 2009

Box score

     NEW ORLEANS — Brittany Powell, Marchelle Jones and Jasmine Grant scored 11 points apiece Thursday to lead Xavier University of Louisiana to a 75-45 women's basketball victory over Texas College in the Xavier Classic.
     The Gold Nuggets are 6-0 for the first time since the 1981-82 season. And for the first time since 1995-96 they've recorded four straight victories by 25 or more points.
     Powell scored six points during a 13-2 run in the final seven minutes of the first half to give Xavier a 32-20 lead at the break. Xavier never led by less than nine points in the second half and led by at least 20 for the final 14 minutes.
     British Thomas scored 16 points and Elise Kae 14 for Texas College (3-2), but they also combined to commit 17 of the Lady Steers' 30 turnovers.
     Xavier outshot the Lady Steers 43 to 29 percent from the floor and outrebounded them 48-37. Danielle Kennebrew led the Nuggets with a career-high 11 rebounds, and teammate Danielle Jones tied her career best with 10 rebounds.
     Xavier has won eight straight and 83 of its past 86 games at The Barn.
     Langston defeated Tougaloo 77-66, and Dillard beat Tuskegee 75-63 in Thursday's other games.
     The Xavier Classic will conclude Friday after Dillard plays Texas College at 1 p.m., Tuskegee plays Grambling at 3 and Xavier faces Langston at 5.


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's and women's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved