Xavier Athletics



A trio of 21s rallies Gold Rush against SUNO
February 14, 2009

Box score

     NEW ORLEANS — Shaun Dumas, Kelechi Okoroha and Olumide Olafioye scored 21 points apiece Saturday to rally Xavier University of Louisiana to a 74-61 victory over SUNO at The Barn.
     The victory assured the Gold Rush (17-9 overall, 9-5 GCAC) of a ninth consecutive winning season.
     Xavier trailed 24-10 through the first 13 minutes, 35-29 at halftime and 43-35 with 15 minutes remaining. But the Rush outshot the Knights (2-21, 2-12) 65 to 36 percent from the floor in the second half and took its first lead, 57-54, on Olafioye's 3-point play with 5:24 remaining. Olafioye followed with five more points, including another 3-point play, to make it 62-54 and conclude a 10-0 run.
     Brent Leduff scored 18 points for SUNO, and Lionel Green, Kenneth Smith and Timothy Aubert added 10 apiece. Aubert scored all his points in the first half.
     Xavier won for the 13th time in 14 games at The Barn this season, beat SUNO for the ninth consecutive time and handed the Knights their 15th consecutive road loss. SUNO's first-year coach, Dale Valdery, coached the Gold Rush from 1990-2002 and is the Rush's leader in career victories with 234.
     Okoroha grabbed nine rebounds and was 9-of-9 from the line, and Dumas had six steals.
     Xavier took sole possession of third place in the GCAC and trails the leader, Tougaloo, by two games with four to play.


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's and women's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved