Xavier Athletics



Harding and Moses are repeat All-Louisiana choices
December 13, 2008

     NEW ORLEANS — Ebony Harding did it again. So did her coach, Joseph Moses. Anna D'Souza earned recognition too.
     All three were cited on the 2008 All-Louisiana cross country teams selected by a Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel.
     Harding, a junior from Baton Rouge, La., made the seven-member women's team for the third consecutive season. Moses was voted women's Coach of the Year for the second time in three years and men's Coach of the Year for a state-record third consecutive season. D'Souza, also from Baton Rouge, did not make the women's team but tied in the voting for Freshman of the Year with Centenary's Brittany Wilkens.
     Harding broke her Xavier women's record for 5,000 meters three times this season and became the first Gold Nugget to cover the distance in less than 20 minutes (19:48.84). She did that at the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Championships, where she was runner-up for the third consecutive year. Harding also set a school record of 24:41.13 at 6,000 meters.
     Moses led Xavier to a third consecutive GCAC team championship in the men's and women's divisions, and both teams qualified for the NAIA National Championships for the first time since 2002. Xavier tied a Louisiana collegiate men's cross country record by winning a third consecutive conference championship.
     Moses joined Ron Bazil, formerly of Tulane, as the only three-time recipients of the men's coaching award. (There have been 13 All-Louisiana teams, and the first was selected in 1995. No team was chosen in 1996.)
     D'Souza was All-GCAC as a result of finishing fifth in the conference meet. She was the Gold Nuggets' second-fastest runner and had three top-seven individual finishes, including a pair of fifths. D'Souza's best 5K time was 20:58.31.

2008 All-Louisiana
Women's Cross Country Team

Madeline Falcone, junior, Loyola
Ebony Harding, junior, Xavier
Grace Korir, sophomore, Grambling
Everlyne Matonyei, senior, Southeastern Louisiana
Paula Parker, junior, Louisiana-Lafayette
Aubrey Phillips, senior, Tulane
Brittany Wilkens, freshman, Centenary

Runner of the Year: Everlyne Matonyei, Southeastern Louisiana
Newcomer of the Year: Madeline Falcone, Loyola
Freshman of the Year: (tie) Anna D'Souza, Xavier; Brittany Wilkens, Centenary
Coach of the Year: Joseph Moses, Xavier
2008 All-Louisiana
Men's Cross Country Team

Alex Breaux, freshman, Louisiana-Lafayette
Kinsey Dinnel, senior, Louisiana Tech
Kalphys Kemboi, sophomore, Southeastern Louisiana
David Rooney, freshman, McNeese State
Henry Rop, sophomore, Southeastern Louisiana
Zack Schuler, senior, Louisiana Tech
Jacob Simmons, junior, LSU

Runner of the Year: Kalphys Kemboi, Southeastern Louisiana
Newcomer of the Year: Henry Rop, Southeastern Louisiana
Freshman of the Year: David Rooney, McNeese State
Coach of the Year: Joseph Moses, Xavier


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's and women's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved