Xavier Athletics



Harding, Moses, Salmon are All-Louisiana
For immediate release . . . December 20, 2007

NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana cross country runners Ebony Harding and David Salmon were selected to the All-Louisiana team by a Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel, and Joseph Moses was voted men's Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Harding, a junior from Baton Rouge, La., and the 2006 women's Newcomer of the Year, made the seven-member team for the second consecutive season. She was the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference runner-up, All-GCAC and second-team All-NAIA Region XIII for the second straight year, and she led the Gold Nuggets to a second consecutive GCAC team championship. Harding set a school record of 20 minutes, 18.81 seconds for 5,000 meters in the Brooks Memphis Twilight Classic on Oct. 6.

Salmon, from Shorewood, Wis., made the men's team and was chosen men's Freshman of the Year. He placed in the top six in four races this season, was third in the GCAC championship, led the Gold Rush to the league championship and was named to All-GCAC team. Salmon set a school record of 22:39.36 for four miles at the Southern Miss Invitational on Sept. 7 and broke the mark by nearly 25 seconds.

Moses is the first to be men's Louisiana Coach of the Year two consecutive years, and he's the third multiple winner, joining Tulane's Ron Bazil (1995, 1998 and 2001) and McNeese State's Steve Baker (1997 and 2000). (The first All-Louisiana cross country team was selected in 1995.) Moses directed the Gold Rush to a second consecutive GCAC championship and fourth place in NAIA Region XIII. The Rush had four all-conference runners, and the top two were freshmen (Salmon and Milo Barry) who finished 3-4 in the GCAC meet.

2007 All-Louisiana
Women's Cross Country Team

Kate Accardo, senior, LSU
Rebecca Coady, freshman, Tulane
Precious Collins, junior, Southern
Laurie Dalrymple, freshman, Tulane
Ebony Harding, junior, Xavier
Everlyne Montenyei, junior, Southeastern Louisiana
Aubrey Phillips, junior, Tulane

Runner of the Year: Aubrey Phillips, Tulane
Newcomer of the Year: Everlyne Montenyei, Southeastern Louisiana
Freshman of the Year: Laurie Dalrymple, Tulane
Coach of the Year: Heather Van Norman, Tulane
2007 All-Louisiana
Men's Cross Country Team

Jace Benoit, junior, Louisiana Tech
Cory Denstel, junior, Louisiana Tech
Mark Hoey, freshman, McNeese State
Kalphys Kemboi, freshman, Southeastern Louisiana
David Salmon, freshman, Xavier
Jake Simmons, sophomore, LSU
Joseph Simuchimba, junior, LSU

Runner of the Year: Joseph Simuchimba, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Cory Denstel, Louisiana Tech
Freshman of the Year: David Salmon, Xavier
Coach of the Year: Joseph Moses, Xavier
All-Louisiana Cross Country
Men's Coach of the Year
1995   Ron Bazil, Tulane
1996   no team selected
1997   Steve Baker, McNeese State
1998   Ron Bazil, Tulane
1999   no nominees
2000   Steve Baker, McNeese State
2001   Ron Bazil, Tulane
2002   Steve Kalbaugh, Xavier
2003   no nominees
2004   Tim Lemaire, Louisiana-Lafayette
2005   no nominees
2006   Joseph Moses, Xavier
2007   Joseph Moses, Xavier


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's and women's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 520-7329 phone
(504) 520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
Contact UsSite Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved