Xavier Athletics



Bell, Richardson, Knowles are All-Louisiana
For immediate release . . . May 29, 2007

NEW ORLEANS — Three tennis players from Xavier University of Louisiana — Dominique Bell, Terry Richardson and Cameron Knowles — were selected All-Louisiana by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Bell, a 5-foot-5 junior from Jackson, Miss., was chosen to the women's first team. Richardson, a 5-5 sophomore from Ellenwood, Ga., and Knowles, a 6-4 freshman from Omaha, Neb., made the men's second team. Knowles was selected men's Freshman of the Year.

Bell, who was first-team All-Louisiana as a sophomore in 2005, was 12-3 in singles and 11-5 in doubles this year. The Louisiana award is Bell's latest in a slew of honors, which includes first-team NAIA All-American and, for the third time, Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Player of the Year.

Richardson played No. 1 singles and doubles for the Gold Rush and was the men's GCAC Player of the Year. He was 9-10 in singles and 12-7 in doubles. He and doubles teammate Mario Myles were 3-0 in tiebreakers, including a victory in March against NAIA eighth-ranked Christian Jaeckle and Andre Ferreira of Berry.

Knowles, the GCAC Newcomer of the Year, was 11-6 in singles and 14-6 in doubles. He and doubles teammate Miroslav Vukicevic closed the season with a five-match winning streak.

Both Xavier teams won GCAC championships in 2007 and made the final NAIA top 25. The women were 21st, and the men were 25th.

2007 All-Louisiana Tennis Teams
First Team
Piotrek Banas, Louisiana-Lafayette
Shaun Ellison, Louisiana-Lafayette
Ken Skupski, LSU
Danny Bryan, LSU
Jan Zelezny, LSU
Vladimir Paunic, Southeastern Louisiana

Second Team
Dellon Lorimer, Grambling
Ondrej Krivka, Southeastern Louisiana
Julien Lousao, Southeastern Louisiana
Terry Richardson, Xavier
Cameron Knowles, Xavier

Player of the Year: Ken Skupski, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Jan Zelezny, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Cameron Knowles, Xavier
Coach of the Year: Jeff Brown, LSU

First Team
Megan Falcon, LSU
Emilija Arnaudovska, Southeastern Louisiana
Breda Kovac, Southeastern Louisiana
Jana Simurkova, Southeastern Louisiana
Iva Velkovska, Southeastern Louisiana
Dominique Bell, Xavier

Second Team
Myrthe Molenveld, Louisiana-Lafayette
Marion Lehmann, Louisiana-Monroe
Hannah Robinson, LSU
Monica Kelly, Louisiana Tech
Daniela Posada, Northwestern State
Bonnie Phillips, Southeastern Louisiana

Player of the Year: Megan Falcon, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Megan Falcon, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Myrthe Molenveld, Louisiana-Lafayette
Coach of the Year: Jason Hayes, Southeastern Louisiana


Gulf Coast Athletic Conference
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The Xavier Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets compete in Division I of the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) as a member of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC). Xavier fields men's and women's teams in basketball, cross country and tennis.

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
Campus Box 92
New Orleans, LA 70125
504-520-7329 phone
504-520-7934 fax

Xavier University
Xavier Athletics

About Xavier
- Contact Us - Site Map
© 2006 Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved